Deportation from Egypt, between July 2 and July 3rd – Arrestation et Expulsion d’Egypte entre le 2 Juillet et le 3 Juillet 2015

Posted on

Arab spring going backward

enlivenments

I was personnally arrested then deported from Egypt between July 2nd and July 3rd, for doing a Second Year Master study about the regime opponents, I believe. 

(French version below, version française ci-dessous)

I am a young French researcher in political sociology, at EHESS Paris. The reason for my arrest I believe are the contacts I have with Egyptians from 6 April Movement. It was part of my study to know them. 6 April is an opposition movement to current ex-military president Abdelfattah Al-Sissi’s regime. It was officially banned on April 28, 2014. On last July 2, I decided to go to Damietta, a city in Nile Delta, with a member of the movement. At 4am on July 3rd, about ten policemen and men from intelligence services came to my hotel room. They asked me to take my things and brought me to Damietta police station. They left my friend unaware of my arrest. He learnt it through the person at the…

View original post 790 more words

Leave a Reply

